Why do I blog anyway….

Today, I was asked by a fellow blogger to answer the question, “Why do you blog?” It was an interesting question and one I’ve actually never answered.

Why do I blog? In a sense, I’ve been blogging before blogging was born. Prior to the explosion of internet writing and story sharing, I would write letters to my friends and family telling them of the adventures, trials and lessons I was learning as I made my way through the Army, college, relocation and the earning of my most coveted award, my pilot’s license. I eventually progressed to sending monthly emails to friends and family to share “Where in the World I was.” As technology and the internet became more common in the home, I eventually progressed to a web-space and finally to a blog. So, one reason I blog is because it is just natural progression.

Now the question of why I write is completely different. Isaac Asimov said, “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers.” I would have to agree. For me writing is therapeutic. I need to write to figure out my problems, enjoy my successes and remember my lessons. I’ve been told, my posts may be depressing, inspirational, dark or cheery. But the truth is, my posts are reminders. They may be dark and depressing. Life has that feature. Much of my young life was dark and depressing, full of hurt and suffering. But as I’ve grown, I’ve enjoyed more joys in life. I’ve experienced excitement and happiness of my own doing. I’ve had successes and failures. The happy and the sad are my story. Because I write about the sad, some feel I am dwelling on it, when in truth, I am processing my feelings again to release more that I was not able to before. I was told this is normal. As we mature, we view things differently and have more “Ah hah” moments about the happy and sad in our past.

I write because I need to. Verbally sharing my happiness and my struggles has proven to be distasteful. Pretending that everything is butterflies and fairies, and holding in my emotions, both happy and sad, has proven disastrous. I write to share my stories as I see them at the time; to find clarity and order my thoughts; and to document what I have been through in order to remember the lessons I have been taught if not exactly learned.

Not everything I write will be happy, full of joy and inspiration. Not everything I write will be depressing, angry or frustrated. But everything I write will be the truth as I understand it. I write because I am imperfect and still learning. I write because I want to have a happy ending to my story. Only the author can make a happy ending and I am the author.

About Supovadea

Single Mom, Certified Rocket Scientist & Aerospace Engineer, Private Pilot, Amazon, Dancer, Writer, Eternal Optimist, Survivor, Dreamer, 2,910 NM ENE of where I belong.
This entry was posted in Discovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

