Naturally Me. A Hair Raising Expose

Since returning to the Mainland, I’ve suffered culture shock in many ways. Things from foods, the way people talk and even something as simple as the meaning of a smile. Who knew that a compulsive smiler could cause a near riot of attraction?

Anyway, one of the biggest things that comes up, (nearly everyday) is my HAIR. Apparently hair is a big topic and mine draws attention. I don’t know why, but I often have someone asking me where I bought it or what I do to it. The funniest thing is when people complain I don’t wear my hair “natural.” That baffles me because I don’t understand what “natural” is if I don’t wear mine naturally. Does that mean, not brushed, dried, or clean because that’s all I do.

Now people who know me well, know I’m not a girlie girl, so being extravagant with my hair is not something I do. I wash it. Dry it. Flat iron it. And if I’m feeling up to it, I’ll wear it down and actually put a CURL in it. But most often, I just put it up and ignore it. For clarification it should be stated that it is a common misconception that I have African-American hair. I do not. I am a mixed race child, and my hair is also. It mostly acts like native Polynesian hair. However, the new “political term” is multicultural hair. Either way, traditionally African-American hair care products are too heavy and Caucasian hair care products are too harsh. However, I have found one product that amazingly seems to work and I hope they never change their formulas.

Additionally, I have no chemicals currently in my hair. In fact my hair hasn’t been touched by a professional since December 2008. Partially because I haven’t found a stylist I will trust and mostly because I have no money. Unemployment makes me prioritize. Housing, transportation, food, clothing, education and play for my “mini-Amazon” are priorities over salon visits in my universe. I have HAD relaxers in my hair. Mainly because they made it easier to tame the frizzies induced by the high humidity of Hawai`i. However, Colorado, being the “Roof of America” lacks an excessive amount of moisture in the air.

After speaking with several of my friends and one in particular who implored me to make this post, I have agreed to do it. The focus on my hair by both, women and men in Colorado has baffled me. Regularly receiving praising comments on the beauty of my hair coupled with remarks that it can’t all by my real hair amaze me. I have A LOT of thick hair. It used to be much, MUCH thicker than it is now. I’m actually somewhat happy that pregnancy thinned it out some. Now I can actually wear it in a pretense of style.

But this post is not about what people say about my hair, so much as it is a picture post to show the various states my hair passes through in hopes that I may show people who claim not to believe my hair didn’t come out of a bag. I have nothing to hide. I have wild hair. I love my wild hair. I took all the following pictures on the same day. It normally takes me one hour from beginning to end to wash, condition, dry and flat-iron my hair. This day, it took 90 minutes because I used my LAPTOP camera to take pictures. Also, I did not do any post production work on these photos. Well, except for the very last one. 😉 Hope you’re ready for this ride.

Here we go. This is me… Naturally! 😀

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Supovadea

Single Mom, Certified Rocket Scientist & Aerospace Engineer, Private Pilot, Amazon, Dancer, Writer, Eternal Optimist, Survivor, Dreamer, 2,910 NM ENE of where I belong.
This entry was posted in Amazon, Discovery, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Naturally Me. A Hair Raising Expose

  1. Doni says:

    All of these photos look great Zyola! You do have fabulous hair–super versatile and beautiful at every stage. One correction, though, what is “African-American” hair? Be careful not to make the same assumptions as the people who question your hair because it doesn’t fit their assumptions of what it should be…

    • Supovadea says:

      Mahalo nui, Doni! 😀 You ask a valid question. I honestly don’t know what African-American hair is. I just know when I go to talk to stylists or look at products I am asked about African-American hair. I would think that knowing the history and the amount of racial mixing that occurred, it could be anything, but it seems that it is also a category that cosmetologists learn. All I know is the average product “marketed” as useable on African-American hair, doesn’t work on my hair.

  2. Anne Murata says:

    What a wonderful post! “Multicultural hair”–I love it. Sistah hair, mo la dat! Aloha @AnneMurata

    • Supovadea says:

      Mahalo! Isn’t “politically correct” just a bunch of silly, fun. Amazed me when I found out I had “mutlicultural hair,” too. So silly.

  3. Karlene says:

    Your hair is gorgeous. I love them all! So me… I’m now down to cutting my own hair. lol. Get those scissors out and hack away when I don’t like it anymore. 🙂

    • Supovadea says:

      Mahalo. I do love my hair. Even when it annoys me. 😀 I also try to “trim” my hair myself, too, although, I’m not too good at it. Eek!

Leave a Reply

