A Night to Remember – “Double” Date

I was recently browsing through photos and came across a group of photos from a dance I went to while at Colorado State University in 1992. I attended this dance every year I was there. This was the night I had two dates.

It didn’t start out that way. I actually showed up at the dance solo. Just me and the girls. We were singing that night. Oh my, GOD! I can’t believe we sang that night. We sang “Two Occasions” by The Deele, and had some lame choreography. I remember, it went well, but in my head I sounded pretty tone-deaf. 🙂

Nevertheless, it was still an amazing night. I remember there were two men that us single girls had our eyes on as being very easy on the eyes and the mind. I can remember exactly what it was about the two of them that was the most appealing, They were both really good guys. Fun. Laughed easily. Smiled more. Respectful. Supportive and interested in what us “silly” girls had to say. But the best thing is neither of them had any overwhelming drama. What more could a girl want?

As I said, I started the night out solo. Of the girls in my “Quintet” I think I was the only solo one. I always “flew” solo. I was definitely NOT the only girl there that night without a date. But somehow, half way through the night, I ended up “paired” with both of these guys. I danced the whole night with them. I even got roses from both of them.

After the dance when the “Quintet” went out to “breakfast” I went with two men on my arms. When it was time to go home, I had two men to give me great LONG hugs, kisses on the cheek and one even stole a “real” kiss. I won’t tell who.

Looking back, I still don’t know why the two of them came to that dance. They came solo, as well. I also wonder if I could have had a “relationship” with either of them. I did have a few other “outings” with them, individually and together, afterward. However, at the time I was still not ready for a man in my life and couldn’t really comprehend what either may or may not have been intending. But it was still a great night. Definitely a “Night To Remember.”

P.S. For those keeping track. I was 21 during this dance.

About Supovadea

Single Mom, Certified Rocket Scientist & Aerospace Engineer, Private Pilot, Amazon, Dancer, Writer, Eternal Optimist, Survivor, Dreamer, 2,910 NM ENE of where I belong.
This entry was posted in Memories, Rhythm and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

