Wrong is Just Wrong: The Hawaiian Peace Sign

Now, truthfully, I don’t care about “the finger.” Watching sports means things like that will happen. To be offended by it, would just be silly.

What I am offended by is the flippant remark made by, Kevin Harlan, the announcer. I understand the majority of America doesn’t view Hawaiians as a REAL people or a true race, a view that is offensive in itself. However, the government has finally recognized our valid and legal existence and allowed us to claim Hawaiian as a race on Census documents and other government documents that ask. That concession to our existence makes this remark RACIST, regardless of how “innocent” many will say it is.

Mr. Harlan would have been fried if he had said “Black,” or “Mexican,” or even “Chinese.” Those are the “Buzz” races that people actually try to be careful about. Instead he said “HAWAIIAN,” and as a Hawaiian, I am offended that I am supposed to accept this as “funny.” Why didn’t he just say the Roman or Caucasian Peace Sign? Much more accurate and less likely to be racist as the gesture is traced back to the Romans.

Again, I know most people won’t care or will dismiss this as “nothing.” In addition to the solidarity and support I’ve received today, I’ve also been called all kinds of names for my opinion. I’ve even had my citizenship and patriotism questioned.

There is a multitude of support for people who identify with any of the other buzz “racial” groups, as well as for those who don’t but are lumped in with one due to generalizations. As a Hawaiian, I’m proud of my culture & ethnicity. I hate that we’ve become a fairytale & I will always speak out against it. In this case, I am compelled to call foul, because no one else will.

Wrong is just Wrong.

About Supovadea

Single Mom, Certified Rocket Scientist & Aerospace Engineer, Private Pilot, Amazon, Dancer, Writer, Eternal Optimist, Survivor, Dreamer, 2,910 NM ENE of where I belong.
This entry was posted in Soapbox and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

