I know what I want and it’s not that

I don’t want to sell mattresses, cosmetics, candles, insurance, vacuums, jewelry, perfumes, lotions, hair pieces, animals, nor personal “services.” Yes, I said “services.”

I am unemployed, but I’m not a saleswoman, and I know myself well enough to know that I would simply not be good in these “positions.” I’ve tried in the past to sell, insurance, securities, household goods, encyclopedias and cosmetics as my “entrepreneurial” attempt at being self sufficient. In each situation, I’d do well for a short period of time and then inevitably fizzle out and leave the “business” of making my “up-line” money.  Each time, I was lured in by the selling strategy of “I’ll do all the hard work. You just call your friends and family and set up meet and greets.” So I’d call all my family and friends who didn’t really know me and make a little money; generally, just enough to cover any licensing or start up money that I had to put forth up front. Eventually, I’d become uninterested in pursuing the next “tier.”  My up-line would try to get me re-motivated, but it never worked. Then they’d start trying to guilt me into continuing. That would just make me angry and I’d leave the business cold.

Truthfully, I had thought I was just not a motivated person. After all here were people telling me how they made their money. I’ve dined with millionaires on chartered yachts at sunset. I’ve been asked to attend exorbitant conferences and been shuttled across the country in First Class and housed in Five Star hotels. Here was all this money, but I was just not as interested as they wanted me to be. None of these “opportunities” ever got into my soul.
Right now I’m unemployed and in the 90 days I’ve been unemployed, I’ve been approached by all kinds of “entrepreneurial” opportunities I’ve been told I should really be excited to have the chance to “learn about.“ The idea that I am not remotely interested in the product I’ve been asked to “share” doesn’t seem to be an issue.  They throw in my face that if I was really willing to do ANYTHING like I say I am, to keep my daughter happily housed, I’d try it. I’ve honestly looked at a few, and in the end still say no.

I am unemployed, but I am not without a dream. I know WHAT I want to do. What I don’t know is HOW to get there. All these little “opportunities” are not going to get me where I want to go. They are stop gaps. Something to plug a hole, but they are not a fix, and eventually the water will get around the stop gap and I’ll likely be worse off.

These “opportunities” work for some people, but so far none of them are in my heart. I want to pursue my dream of being in aviation. I want to fly. I want to own my own plane. I want to teach others to fly. I want to share the story of flight in print, photography and any other media I’m allowed to. I want to go to school and get a degree that will let me glide into aviation. I know what I want to do and it doesn’t involve selling luxuries, services or cleaning supplies. What I need is a mentor to help me find the way there and keep me on the path when I get distracted. What I don’t need is to waste my energy and time any more on “opportunities” to “build my business” via an “up-line” who is fully invested in “their business. “ These opportunities are just not viable for me. They work for some. Just not me.

About Supovadea

Single Mom, Certified Rocket Scientist & Aerospace Engineer, Private Pilot, Amazon, Dancer, Writer, Eternal Optimist, Survivor, Dreamer, 2,910 NM ENE of where I belong.
This entry was posted in Discovery, Soapbox and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

