Hau`oli La Ho`omakika`i! – Happy Thanksgiving

Every year at this time, we Americans begin to change our thought processes. We forcibly try to remember to appreciate everything and everyone that we have taken advantage of or taken for granted the rest of the year. For some it is a real effort. For others it’s as easy as breathing. The hard part is of course, letting everyone else know what we are thankful for and that we actually ARE thankful. What is so great about the Thanksgiving holiday in America is for at least a day or two, people are truly trying to think of what they are thankful for. We become almost an unbelievably polite and thankful society. No other time of the year do you hear “Thank you,” so often said sincerely between strangers. It’s enough to make anyone feel a little of the warm fuzzy of the blossoming holiday season.

In keeping with the American tradition, I am also compelled to express my deep gratitude for the many who have touched my life allowing me to become the person I am today with.

I am thankful for my family in all it’s glory and for all it’s skeletons. Without the joys, pains and secrets I would not have grown to be as resilient and self reliant as I am. I am thankful for my friends who have seen me through some of the worst and some of the best times. You are the mortar that has strengthened my foundation. I am thankful for the, well, there’s no nice way to say it. I am thankful for the asses in my life. Without your total disregard for me and selfish attitudes & actions I would not have grown the armor I have to protect me from your brethren.

I am thankful for the opportunities I have been given to follow my dreams. Flying, dancing, singing and writing have given me the most amazing joys, (and some tears.) I am thankful for the broken dreams, missed opportunities and failed attempts for they have also taught me to act with conviction, pick myself up and strive for more.

I am thankful for the use of technology and how it allows me to express myself and maintain relationships that surely would have been lost over the years. I am thankful for the men and women who have fought for all the rights and freedoms I now enjoy. I am thankful for a job to complain about and the dream of becoming my own boss one day. I am thankful for animals and their fuzzy love. I am thankful to be an American where I can express my thanks and also my disappointment without fear of violent retaliation. I am also thankful for the selfish news-makers and wannabes who have shown me how not to act in the public eye.

I am thankful for so many things, that I could truly spend the day writing them all down. But I am most thankful for the blessing of motherhood and the opportunity to bring into this world an amazing woman. I am thankful for all the opportunities she is going to have. I am thankful everyday for her and my health. I am thankful to be able to experience the joy of being trusted, loved and relied on by such a beautiful, innocent being. She is my reason for continuing to strive to reach the stars I’ve placed in the sky. She is why my heart is still open, my ears still hear and my voice still sings.

This Thanksgiving, I am thankful for a universe of possibilities, a universe of failed attempts, a universe of joy and the amazing opportunity of a future. It is my hope that everyone feels my gratitude. It is sincere.

Hau`oli La Ho`omakika`i! = Happy Thanksgiving Day! (Hawaiian)

May everyone find a reason to give thanks today.

About Supovadea

Single Mom, Certified Rocket Scientist & Aerospace Engineer, Private Pilot, Amazon, Dancer, Writer, Eternal Optimist, Survivor, Dreamer, 2,910 NM ENE of where I belong.
This entry was posted in Soapbox and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

